Tag Archives: El Pulga

Top 10 players scoring the most goals in World Cup history

The top 10 players who score the most goals in World Cup history do not have the names of the world’s top two superstars Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Despite scoring countless goals in their careers, but Messi and Ronaldo are not really predestined to fire in the World Cup arena. Experiencing 4 world football finals in 2006, 2010, 2014 and 2018, CR7 has only 7 goals.

With El Pulga, he scored 1 goal less than his colleague from Portugal. In terms of performance, Messi only scored an average of 0.32 goals/game (19 games in 4 World Cups including 2006, 2010, 2014 and 2018).

Leading the player with the most goals in World Cup history is Miroslav Klose of Germany. The Polish native has 16 goals in 24 matches. Not as smart as Messi or Ronaldo, Klose is a modern striker with excellent wall-making ability. He often overcame the defenders with the ability to flee hidden, and possessed very good header skills.

Behind Klose is the “Alien” Ronaldo. The former player born in 1976 has a superb personal technique. “Fat fat” can dribble, turn the ball, control the ball at the upper level. Through four World Cups in 1994, 1998, 2002 and 2006, Ronaldo scored a total of 15 goals, achieving a performance of 0.79 goals per game.

Third, fourth and fifth were Gerd Mueller (Germany, 14 goals), Just Fontaine (France, 13 goals) and Pele (Brazil, 12 goals).

Top players to score the most goals in World Cup history

1. Miroslav Klose (Germany, 16 goals)

2. Ronaldo (Brazil, 15 goals)

3. Gerd Mueller (Germany, 14 goals)

4. Just Fontaine (France, 13 goals)

5. Pele (Brazil, 12 goals)

6. Sándor Kocsis (Hungary, 11 goals)

7. Juergen Klinsmann (Germany, 11 goals)

8. Gabriel Batistuta (Argentina, 10 goals)

9. Gary Lineker (England, 10 goals)

10. Thomas Mueller (Germany, 10 goals)

11. Grzegorz Lato (Poland, 10 goals)

12. Helmut Rahn (Germany, 10 goals)

13. Teofilo Cubillas (Peru, 10 goals)